Opened 14 years ago

Closed 14 years ago

#110 closed bug (Invalid)

Deluge doesn't comply with XDG specification - Torrent should be in $XDG_DATA_HOME

Reported by: anonymous Owned by: markybob
Priority: major Milestone:
Component: 0.5.x Version: 0.5.8.4
Keywords: Cc:

Description

The config files of Deluge are in $XDG_CONFIG_HOME which is good and complies with the FD.o spec : http://standards.freedesktop.org/basedir-spec/latest/ar01s03.html

Unfortunatly, the folder contains also valuable user data : the torrent.

It must be stressed that the purpose of the XDG specification is to allow user to quickly restore default settings by removing their whole .config folder. Doing this with current Deluge behaviour would result in data loss.

More detailled argumentation : http://standards.freedesktop.org/basedir-spec/latest/ar01s03.html

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed 14 years ago by andar

  • Resolution set to invalid
  • Status changed from new to closed

Wrong. The torrent files Deluge saves in it's config folder are copies used for the persistent state between sessions. If the user wishes to save this data then they should be saving the original torrent file they are using when adding the torrent to the session.

comment:2 Changed 14 years ago by anonymous

  • Resolution invalid deleted
  • Status changed from closed to reopened

I think I was not very clear : the .config could be completely deleted. This is the goal of the .config folder.

If my .config is deleted for whatever reason, the next time I start Deluge, I will not see all my current sessions -> I loose data.

The trick to distinguish between config and user data is that for a config, you always have some kind of default. A data is something added by the user which "data" in it. The torrent is the typical case of an user data. Even Deluge ask you if you want to delete this file when you remove a torrent from the list, meaning that it doesn't not want to take the risk of removing it without asking. So, why putting this in a place that could be removed at any time ?

Why not putting it directly into the Trash folder then ?

I know that it's not something all user might see at first glance but the value of this spec is not to only hide all the hidden folder in a huge .config. It's really to separate what can be removed (for example because you want to restore the default settings everywhere) from what cannot be removed in any circumstances.

comment:3 Changed 14 years ago by markybob

  • Resolution set to invalid
  • Status changed from reopened to closed
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.