Opened 10 years ago

Closed 7 years ago

Last modified 2 years ago

#1679 closed feature-request (Duplicate)

Add confimation to "Remove with data"

Reported by: Jameshfisher Owned by:
Priority: minor Milestone: 2.0.0
Component: GTK UI Version:
Keywords: Cc:

Description

Presenting the user with an option that is dangerous should:

  • be expected by the user (the option should be in an appropriate context)
  • be confirmed after selection by the user

Data removal is one of those dangerous operations. Here's how Deluge currently handles it:

  • select "Remove Torrent" from the context menu
  • user is presented with an option to "Remove with data"
  • selection of "Remove with data" is unconfirmed before execution

This violates both simple design principles. I expect the "Remove Torrent" option to mean "cease downloading and uploading". I have asked several others what they expect this to do, and they say the same. More than once I have selected this option accidentally, and so have others.

The following instructions are unrelated, but are currently conflated by the UI:

  • ceasing downloading/uploading associated with a .torrent file
  • deleting all data associated with that .torrent file
  • (deleting the .torrent file itself ...?)

These should be clearly separated. I suggest the following:

  • The "Remove Torrent" option in the context menu exclusively means "cease downloading, cease uploading, and dissociate Deluge and this torrent file". Selecting it prompts a confirmation: "are you sure you wish to remove this .torrent file from Deluge?" There may be additional warning text if the download has not yet completed.
  • A new option is added to the context menu, "Remove Torrent and data". Selecting it prompts a confirmation: "are you sure you wish to remove all downloaded data, and remove this .torrent file from Deluge?"

Change History (6)

comment:1 Changed 9 years ago by Cas

  • Milestone changed from Future to 1.4.0
  • Priority changed from major to minor
  • Summary changed from "Remove with data" option dangerous and unchecked to Add confimation to "Remove with data"
  • Type changed from defect to feature-request
  • Version 1.2.2 deleted

I can see your point about confirmation before delete however I don't think it is as confusing as you make out.

Ceasing downloading/uploading is what the pause button is for.

comment:2 follow-up: Changed 9 years ago by nixar

I offer a better solution to this issue at #1859.

Confirmation dialogs are a pain in the ass; they're easy to code but terrible UI.

comment:3 in reply to: ↑ 2 Changed 9 years ago by s0undt3ch

Replying to nixar:

I offer a better solution to this issue at #1859.

Confirmation dialogs are a pain in the ass; they're easy to code but terrible UI.

A "stop bugging me" me checkbox could also be added.

comment:4 Changed 7 years ago by Cas

  • Resolution set to Duplicate
  • Status changed from new to closed

comment:5 Changed 5 years ago by Cas

  • Milestone changed from 2.0.x to 2.0

comment:6 Changed 2 years ago by Cas

  • Milestone changed from 2.0 to 2.0.0

Milestone renamed

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.